REPORT OF THE 7TH ANNUAL SYMPOSIUM OF THE AMERICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETY NIGERIA INTERNATIONAL CHEMICAL SCIENCES CHAPTER

The 7th Annual Symposium of the American Chemical Society Nigeria International Chemical Sciences Chapter tagged ABUJA 2022 took place from 6th to 9th March 2022 at the Raw Materials Research and Development Council, Street Maitama, Abuja. It has its theme as "Repositioning the Chemical Sciences for Tackling Emerging Threats to National Security". The Symposium attracted over 200 people from the Government, Academia and Industry.

OPENING CEREMONY

The opening ceremony took place on 7th March 2022. It was chaired by the DG/CEO, Sheda Science and Technology Complex (SHESTCO), Professor Paul C. Onyenekwe. The Permanent Secretary, Political and Economic Affairs, Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (OSGF) Mr. Andrew Adejo was the Guest of Honour, while Dr ,Ogbonnaya Onu the Honorable Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation was the Special Guest of Honour.

The following people were of conferred with Award of Excellence

- 1. Prof. H. D. Ibrahim, DG/CEO Raw Materials Research and Development Council.
- 2. Prof. Aliyu Jauro, DG/CEO, National Environmental Standards Regulations and Enforcement Agency.
- 3. Prof. Abdullahi Mustapha, DG/CEO, National Biotechnology Development Agency
- 4. Dr. Mansur Liman, DG/CEO, Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria
- 5. Chemist Wilford Jwalshik, Registrar, ICCON
- 6. Prof. Aliyu Shugaba, Vice Chancellor, University of Maiduguri
- 7. Prof. Abdul-Rasheed Na'Allah, Vice Chancellor, University of Abuja
- 8. Prof. Sunday O. Okeniyi, Vice Chancellor, Atiba University
- 9. Prof. Ishaq Oloyode
- 10. Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu, Hon. Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation
- 11. Prince Arthur Eze, Chairman, Oranto Petroleum

KEYNOTE ADDRESS

The keynote address was given by Ambassador Ayoola Olukanni, immediate past DG of NACCIMA

PLENARY SESSION

The following papers we are presented

1. Implications of Scientific Research in an Emerging Economy by Prof. Moses N. Chendo, President, Chemical Society of Nigeria

- 2. Chemical Security: Insights and Distinctions from Global Nuclear Security Efforts by Howard L. Hall
- 3. Food Sufficiency and Human Security in Nigeria: The Role of Biotechnology by Prof. Abdullahi Mustapha

TECHNICAL SESSIONS

There were three breakout rooms for the technical sessions. In total, 81 Physical Oral Presentations, 9 Postal Presentations and 18 Virtual Presentations.

ACCOMMODATION

Members of the EXCO and LOC were accommodated at Kifina Emerald Hotel, Kado District while the students were accommodated at National Women Development Centre.

SUPPORT

We received financial support from National Biotechnology Development Agency and National Open University of Nigeria. We also received the following kind (non-Financial donations). The DG/CEO Raw Materials Research and Development Council, H.D. Ibrahim graciously gave us the Event Centre and two other breakout room. The Event Centre costs N1.1 million (for 2 days) conference room 128 is N200000 and Boardroom is N200,000. So the total amount will received in kind from RMRDC amounted to 1.5 million. Also we received the following non-financial support. Two organizations namely RMRDC and ARCN give us one and three vehicles respectively. The Director General/CEO, FRCN Dr. Mansur Liman played our jingles on Radio primetime. However, we expecting more financial support to come in

CHEMISTRY FESTIVAL

The Side Event was Chemistry Festival. There were seven (7) volunteers who did the hands on experiments. Five (5) public schools and two (2) private schools participated in the Festival and also presented drama and songs.

LETTERS OF APPRECIATION

Letters of Appreciation have been written and distribution has started.

APPRECIATION

The members of Local Organizing Committee (LOC) appreciate the opportunity given to them to serve

Maxwell O. Duru Secretary, LOC

MEMBERS OF THE ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

Dr. (Mrs.) Nnemeka E. Ihegwuagu - Chairperson Maxwell O. Duru - Secretary Timothy S. Samuel - Member Timothy S. Samuel Mufutau Olatunji Alagbo - Member Baba Sumaila Haruna - Member Aminu Bello Dange - Member Abbey Ashaolu - Member Dr. (Mrs.) Gloria Ajoku - Member Chukwuemeka Alloysius Achiode - Member Dr. Okoh Abani - Member Prof. J. A. Obaleye - Member - Member Dr. Edu Inam Dr. Thompson Izuagie - Member Dr. Fashina - Member Prof. Lami Nnamonu - Member Okey Ochulor - Member